HC Deb 11 March 1980 vol 980 cc532-3W
Mr. Michael Brown

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the local authorities which have friendship and twinning arrangements with cities in the Soviet Union; and if he will issue a circular to local authorities to cancel those links.

Mr. King

The following local authorities are twinned with cities and towns in the Soviet Union:

  • Birmingham MDC—Zaporozhye
  • Cardiff DC—Voroshilovgrad
  • Cheltenham DC—Sochi
  • Coventry MDC—Volgograd
  • Durham County Council—Kostroma
  • Hackney IBC—Krasnya Presnya, Moscow
  • Lambeth LBC—Moskvoretsky
  • Manchester MDC—Leningrad
  • Newham LBC—Oktober District, Moscow
  • Nottingham DC—Minsk
  • Plymouth DC—Novorossisk
  • Sheffield MDC—Donetsk.

I understand that Nottingham city council has decided to break off links with its twin town of Minsk.

Decisions on town twinning are a matter for individual local authorities and communities; I have no power to intervene in those decisions.

Forward to