HC Deb 31 July 1980 vol 989 c815W
Mr. Brotherton

asked the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster when last he met the chairman of the Arts Council; and what he discussed with him.

Date of appointment Date appointment ends
Rt. Hon. Kenneth Robinson (Chairman) May 1977 April 1982
Dr. Richard Hoggart (Vice-Chairman) January 1979 December 1981
Lady Anglesey January 1978 December 1980
Melvyn Bragg October 1977 December 1980
David Buckle January 1978 December 1980
Professor Lawrence Cowing July 1977 December 1980
Colin Shaw January 1978 December 1980
Bernard Atha January 1979 December 1981
Noel Goodwin January 1979 December 1981
R. Guthrie January 1979 December 1981
Marghanita Laski January 1979 December 1981
Usha Prashar January 1979 December 1981
Professor Anthony Quinton January 1979 December 1981
William Cleaver May 1980 March 1983
Gerald Elliott February 1980 March 1984
Professor A. N. Jeffares February 1980 March 1984
Councillor J. Last February 1980 March 1984
John Manduell February 1980 March 1984
David Sylvester February 1980 March 1984

I receive proposals for membership of the council from a wide variety of sources, and then consult interested parties, as required by the Council's Royal Charter or as otherwise appropriate, to assess candidates' availability and suitability. Members do not represent particular interests but reflect the overall view of the artist, audience and taxpayer.

Mr. Brotherton

asked the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster what fees, expenses and other benefits are paid to members of the Arts Council.

Mr. St. John-Stevas

Members of the Arts Council are unpaid and receive no fees of any kind. Expenses reasonably incurred in the performance of council duties, such as the cost of travel and overnight accommodation, may be reimbursed.

Forward to