HC Deb 22 January 1980 vol 977 cc108-9W
Mr. Thomas Cox

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will list the member States of the EEC which do not impose fees on foreign students studying at universities within their country.

Dr. Boyson

According to our information, Denmark and Luxembourg do not charge fees either for their own or foreign students; France, Italy, the Netherlands and West Germany charge the same fees for all students; Belgium's policy, in general, is to charge foreign students the same fees as home students up to a limit of 2 per cent. of the number of Belgian students and thereafter full cost fees; and the Republic of Ireland charges differential fees.