HC Deb 04 February 1980 vol 978 cc72-3W
Mr. Thomas Cox

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services if he will list the countries that offer reciprocal medical treatment to citizens of the United Kingdom living or holidaying in those countries.

Dr. Vaughan

The United Kingdom has reciprocal arrangements for emergency medical treatment to be provided to United Kingdom visitors to the following:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Channel Islands
  • Czechoslovakia
  • Denmark
  • Finland*
  • France
  • German Democratic Republic
  • German Federal Republic
  • Gibraltar
  • Hungary
  • Irish Republic
  • Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Sweden
  • USSR
  • Yugoslavia
  • *Formal procedures to bring this agreement into operation have not yet been completed.

The reciprocal arrangements with the EEC countries also provide for medical treatment to be available to United Kingdom citizens who are resident in those countries.

In a number of countries listed above and others, United Kingdom citizens resident there can secure medical benefits by paying into the insurance schemes of the country.