HC Deb 10 December 1980 vol 995 c385W
Mr. Stanbrook

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department what categories of public office, elective or otherwise, require the taking of an oath of allegiance before assumption of office.

Mr. Raison

Under the Promissory Oaths Act 1868, as amended, the principal categories of public office whose holders are required by law to take an oath of allegiance are certain specified Ministers of the Crown, judges and justices of the peace.