HC Deb 05 March 1979 vol 963 c411W
Mr. Kilroy-Silk

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if she will list those local authorities which have so far replied to her letter of 22 December asking them to consider putting themselves forward for the pilot schemes for paying 16 to 19-year-olds to stay at school.

Mr. Oakes

The following authorities have asked, some on a provisional basis, to be considered for inclusion in the pilot programme as described in my Department's letter of invitation—Barking, Barnsley, Birmingham, Bradford, Brent, Bury, Cleveland, Coventry, Doncaster, Durham, Gateshead, Haringey, Harrow, Hillingdon, ILEA (Hackney and Islington), Kirklees, Knowsley, Lancashire (Preston, West Lancashire, Blackburn, Rossendale), Leeds, Leicestershire, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle, Newham, North Tyneside, Northamptonshire (Corby), Northumberland, Rochdale, Rotherham, Salford, Sheffield, South Tyneside, St. Helens, Sunderland, Tame-side, Wakefield, Walsall, Waltham Forest, Wigan, Wolverhampton.

The invitation did not ask non-volunteers to reply, though a number have done so.