HC Deb 27 July 1979 vol 971 cc600-2W

Members (Part-time)

R. A. Cookson, C.B.E.(Chairman)—Non-executive director, Lead Industries Group (formerely Chairman); Former chairman CBI North Regional Council; Trustee, Civic Trust for the North-East; Member of Court and Council, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

G. T. Arnold—Divisional organiser, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers; Chairman, Tyneside Confederation of Trade Unions; Member of the Northern Economic Planning Council; Chairman, regional council of the TUC; Executive of the North of England Development Council.

P. Baines, F.C.I.S.—Former commercial director of Albright and Wilson Ltd (Retired). General commissioner, Inland Revenue, White-haven Division. Member of COSIRA, Cumbria.

G. R. Chetwynd, C.B.E.—Board member, BSC Industry Ltd. Chairman, Northern Regional Health Authority. Member of the Northern Economic Planning Council.

P. H. Crowther, C.Eng., M.Inst.F., M.B.I.M, F.R.S.A.—Director, Vickers Ltd. Engineering Group. Chairman of Elswick Works Local Board, Vickers Ltd., Engineering Group. Managing director, Defence Systems Division, Vickers Ltd., Engineering Group. Director, Dudley Foundry (Holdings) Ltd. Member of the Northern regional council of the CBI. Member of the Executive Committee of the North of England Engineering Employers' Association. Member of the Newcastle-upon-Tyne polytechnic council.

G. D. Dixon—District delegate, Amalgamated Society of Boilermakers, Shipwrights, Blacksmiths and Structural Workers. District secretary, Tees Area Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions. Chairman, North-East Coast Iron and Steel Trades Allied Craftsmens Committee. Member of Governors of Teeside polytechnic. Member of the TUC regional executive council.

D. J. Grant—Chairman and managing director, Darchem Ltd.; Director, William Baird & Co. Ltd., which holds shares in Expanded Metal Co. Ltd. and Dawson International Ltd.; Director, Micropore International; Director, Microtherm Europa NV (subsidiary of Micropore International and Degussa of Frankfurt); Member of CBI Council (in London); Member of Northern Economic Planning Council; Member of the Council of the University of Durham; Vice-Chairman of the regional advisory board of the British Institute of Management.

J. R. Mackay—Former director, Swan Hunter Group (retired); Previouosly a partner in Peat Marwick Mitchell & Co., Accountants; Non-executive Director, Fischer & Porter Ltd; Non-executive Chairman, Peterson Bros. (South Shields) Ltd. subsidiary of Hunting Gibson Ltd., Ship Chandlers; Member of Council of Newcastle University.

L. R. Mann—Chairman and managing director, Victor Products (Wallsend) Ltd.; Chairman, Transtar Ltd. Director, Jardine Victor Ltd. (India); Chairman, Victor Industrial Equipment (Pty) Ltd. (South Africa); Member of the regional board of the NEB; Deputy chairman, Northern regional council of the CBI; Deputy chairman, Tyneside Productivity Association.

W. G. McClelland, M.A., M.B.A., F.B.I.M.—Chairman and managing director, Laws Stories Ltd., Gateshead; Chairman, Washington Development Corporation; Member, Josepeh Rowntree Charitable Trust; Member, Anglo-German Foundation for the Study of Industrial Society; Governor of the National Institute of Economic and Social Research.

G. Russell—Chairman, Alcan Enfield Alloys Ltd.; Chairman, Alcan Lynemouth Ltd.; Asst. Managing director, Alcan Aluminium (UK) Ltd.; Chairman, Luxfer Holdings Ltd.; Chairman, Alcan Farms Ltd.; Director, Alcan Properties Ltd.; Member of Board of Management, Northern Sinfonia. Member of Board of Washington Development Corporation.

Dr. A. W. C. Taylor, BSc, PhD, C Chem. ERIC. F Inst Pet. FRSA—Former Chairman, Petrochemical Division, ICI Ltd. (Retired); Chairman, Tees and Hartlepool Port Authority: Chairman, Tees Pilotage Authority; Chairman, Tees Pilot Cutters Ltd.; Director, The Grove Marton Estate Ltd. (Private Co.); Chairman, British Ports Association; Member, National Ports Council.

A. G. Thompson BSC, M Inst P—Managing director of J. Bibby & Sons Ltd. (Industrial Group); Chairman, Henry Cooke Ltd.; Chairman, Henry Cooke Converters Ltd.; Chairman, J. Bibby Edible Oils Ltd.; Director, Sterilin Ltd.; Director, Ekman Cleave Ltd.; Governor and trustee, Heron Coin Mill-Beetham Trust.