HC Deb 27 July 1979 vol 971 c636W
Mr. Dodsworth

asked the Minister of Transport what is the latest position regarding the designation of roads as Euro-routes; and if he will list the British proposals.

Mr. Kenneth Clarke

Euro-routes were originally designated under the 1950 declaration on the construction of main international traffic arteries by the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe. This was revised in 1975 by a new agreement which the United Kingdom signed, subject to ratification, in December 1976. The United Kingdom is not yet in a position to ratify, since many of the routes require improvements or new construction work before they can be regarded as complete for these purposes. The proposed United Kingdom routes are:

  • EO1 Larne—Belfast—Newry.
  • EO5 Southampton—Birmingham—Carlisle—Glasgow—Greenock.
  • E13 London—Northampton—Doncaster.
  • E15 Dover—London—Newcastle—Edinburgh—Inverness.
  • E16 Edinburgh—Glasgow—Greenock—Belfast—Londonderry.
  • E18 Newcastle—Carlisle—Stranraer—Larne—Belfast—Craigavon.
  • E20 Hull—Leeds—Manchester—Liverpool.
  • E22 Immingham—Sheffield and Warrington—Holyhead.
  • E28 Ipswich—Cambridge—Northampton—Birmingham.
  • E30 Felixstowe—London—Bristol—Swansea—Fishguard.
  • E38 Harwich—Colchester.

Forward to