HC Deb 09 July 1979 vol 970 cc42-3W
Mr. Philip Holland

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science (1) if he will list in the Official Report the qualifications including previous appointments in the selection of Ministers held by each member of the Advisory Board for Research Councils;

(2) if he will list in the Official Report the full-time occupation and other Government appointments held by each member of the Advisory Board for Research Councils.

Mr. Macfarlane

The members of the Advisory Board for the Research Councils and their main occupations are as followsSir Alec Merrison DL FRS (chairman)—Vice-chancellor, University of Bristol. Professor Sir Geoffrey Allen, FRS—Chairman, Science Research Council. Mr. J. M. Ashworth—Chief scientist to Central Policy Review Staff, Cabinet Office. Professor J. W. L. Beament, FRS—Chairman, Natural Environment Research Council. Professor A. J. Buller—Chief scientist, Department of Health and Social Security. Sir Frederick Dainton, FRS—Chairman, British Library Board and National Radiological Protection Board. Dr. D. S. Davies—Chief scientist and engineer, Department of Industry. Mrs. J. E. Floud, CBE—Principal, Newnham College, University of Cambridge. Dr. J. L. Gowans, CBE, FRS—Secretary, Medical Research Council. Dr. M. W. Holdgate, CB—Director-general of research, Departments of Environment and Transport. Dr. E. W. Parkes—Chairman, University Grants Committee. Mr. M. V. Posner—Chairman, Social Science Research Council. Dr. R. Riley, FRS—Secretary, Agricultural Research Council. Professor T. R. E. Southwood, FRS—Professor of zoology and applied entomology, University of London. Dr. A. Spinks—Formerly director of research, ICI Ltd. Professor Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer, FRS—Master, St. Catharine's College, University of Cambridge. Professor D. J. Weatherall, FRS—Nuffield professor of clinical medicine, University of Oxford. Dr. B. G. F. Weitz, OBE—Chief scientist, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

My right hon. and learned Friend appoints or approves the appointment of the five heads of the research councils and the chairman of the University Grants Committee. I cannot give information about any appointments held by members of the board for which other Ministers are responsible.