HC Deb 02 July 1979 vol 969 cc483-6W
Mr. Kinnock

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will list in the Official Report the schools which have not received approval for reorganisation under subsection (4) of section 13 of the Education Act 1944 but which are subject to public notice referring to them under subsection (3) of section 13 of the Education Act 1944.

Dr. Boyson

Proposals which will lead to the introduction of a non-selective pattern of education within the area concerned are currently under consideration for the following schools:

Schools and Status


  • All Hallow (Boys)—Secondary Modern
  • Cardinal Newman—Secondary Modern
  • English Martyrs—Secondary Modern
  • St. Anne's (Boys)—Secondary Modern
  • St. George's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Martin's (Boys)—Secondary Modern
  • St. Nicholas—Secondary Modern
  • St. Pius X—Secondary Modern
  • St. Thomas a Becket—Secondary Modern
  • All Hallow (Girls)—Secondary Modern
  • Sacred Heart—Secondary Modern
  • St. Agnes—Secondary Modern
  • St. Anne's (Girls)—Secondary Modern
  • St. Catherine's—Secondary Modern
  • St. John's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Margaret Clitherow—Secondary Modern
  • St. Martin's (Girls)—Secondary Modern
  • St. Winefride's—Secondary Modern
  • Archbishop Whiteside—Secondary Modern
  • Our Lady of the Assumption—Secondary Modern
  • Queen of all Saints—Secondary Modern
  • St. Ambrose Barlow—Secondary Modern
  • St. Bonaventure's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Gregory's—Secondary Modern
  • St. John Almond—Secondary Modern
  • St. Margaret Mary's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Matthew's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Michael's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Philomena's—Secondary Modern
  • St. Swithin's—Secondary Modern
  • 484
  • St. Teresa's—Secondary Modern
  • Campion Boys—Bilateral
  • Cardinal Allen boys—Grammar
  • Cardinal Godfrey boys—Grammar
  • De La Salle boys—Grammar
  • Convent of Mercy girls—Grammar
  • Mary Help of Christians girls—Grammar
  • La Sagesse girls—Grammar
  • Notre Dame girls—Grammar
  • St. Edward's college—Direct Grant
  • St. Francis Xaviers college—Direct Grant
  • Bellerive—Direct Grant
  • Notre Dame collegiate—Direct Grant


  • St. Michael's RC high school


  • Hereward county secondary school, March
  • Neale Wade (UC) school, March
  • Sir Harry Smith college, Whittlesley
  • Cromwell college, Chatteris


  • Whitehaven county grammar school
  • Overend county secondary school, Whitehaven
  • Richmond county secondary school, Whitehaven
  • Workington county grammar school
  • Newlands county girls school, Workington
  • Moorclose county secondary school, Workington
  • Salterbeck county secondary school, Workington


  • Ernest Bailey grammar school, Matlock
  • John Turner secondary modern, Matlock
  • Charles White secondary modern, Matlock


  • St. Boniface's (DG) RC grammar school for boys, Plymouth
  • Notre Dame (DG) RC grammar school for girls, Plymouth
  • Bishope Vaughan RC voluntary aided modern, Plymouth


  • St. Peter's RC independent grammar school, Bournemouth
  • St. Thomas More voluntary aided secondary school, Bournemouth
  • Shaftesbury county high school for girls
  • Shaftesbury Christy's county modern
  • Shaftesbury voluntary controlled boys grammar school

Hampshire Burgate county secondary school, Fordinbridge


  • Burnley grammar school
  • Burnley girls high school
  • Barden high school, Burnley
  • Ivy Bank school, Burnley
  • Towneley high school, Burnley
  • Walshaw high school, Burnley


  • Lancastrian secondary modern school, Fakenham
  • Fakenham grammar school
  • North Walsham county secondary school
  • North Walsham girls county high school
  • North Walsham Paston (boys) school
  • Claydon county secondary school, Gorleston
  • 485
  • Cliff Park county secondary school, Gorleston
  • Gorleston (VC) grammar school
  • Great Yarmouth (VC) grammar school
  • Oriel county grammar school, Gorleston
  • Alderman Leach county secondary school, Gorleston
  • Greenacre county secondary school, Great Yarmouth
  • Hospital county secondary school, Great Yarmouth
  • Styles county secondary school, Great Yarmouth

North Yorkshire

  • Acomb county secondary school, York
  • Ashfield county secondary school, York
  • Beckfield county secondary school, York
  • Burnholme county secondary school, York
  • Burton Stone county secondary school, York
  • Danesmead county secondary school, York
  • Knavesmire county secondary school, York
  • Lowfield county secondary school, York
  • Millmount county grammar school, York
  • Nunthorpe county grammar school, York
  • Park Grove county grammar school, York
  • Queen Anne county grammar school, York
  • Manor (aided) secondary school, York
  • Archbishop Holgate's (controlled) grammar school, York
  • Aireville county secondary school, Skipton
  • Ermysted's grammar school, Skipton
  • Skipton girls high school
  • Upper Wharfedale county secondary school, Skipton

Proposals for reorganisation in Cumbria, Derbyshire, and North Yorkshire were made in accordance with the provisions of the Education Act 1976.

Mr. Kinnock

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if, pursuant to his statement in page 99 of the draft Official Report of 19 June, which schools will become comprehensive in the coming autumn.

Dr. Boyson

The information requested by the hon. Member is as follows:

The following maintained grammar schools are expected to reorganise in September 1979:

  • St. Mary's RC grammar school for boys, Bexley
  • Isleworth school for boys, Hounslow
  • King George V school, Sefton
  • Middleton Cardinal Langley RC grammar school
  • Warrington Boteler grammar school for boys
  • Warrington high school for girls
  • Macclesfield county high school for girls
  • Congleton county grammar school for girls
  • Kirkby Lonsdale grammar school
  • Barrow-in-Furness county grammar school for boys
  • Barrow-in-Furness county grammar school for girls
  • Our Lady's RC secondary school, Barrow-in-Furness
  • Teignmouth grammar school
  • 486
  • Durham Johnston secondary school
  • Loughton county high school
  • King's Lynn, King Edward VII grammar school
  • West Norfolk and Kings Lynn high school
  • Selby grammar school
  • Retford high school for girls
  • East Retford King Edward VI grammar school for boys Tamworth: The grammar school of Elizabeth, Queen of England.

Proposals to cease to maintain the following grammar schools have been approved under section 13(4) of the Education Act 1944 and implementation is expected to take place in September 1979.

  • Hove grammar school for boys, East Sussex.
  • Hove grammar school for girls, East Sussex.
  • Churches college, Petersfield, Hampshire.
  • King Edward VI school, Southampton, Hampshire.
  • Ross-on-Wye grammar school, Hereford and Worcester.
  • Kirkham grammar school, Lancashire.
  • Framlingham Mills county grammar school, Suffolk.

Reorganisation proposals for implementation in September 1979 relating to the following maintained grammar schools were submitted as a result of action under section 2 of the Education Act 1976 and received approval under section 13(4) of the Education Act 1944.

  • Wolverhampton grammar school.
  • Bolton county grammar school.
  • Smithills Moor grammar school, Bolton.
  • Smithills grammar school, Bolton.
  • Hayward grammar school, Bolton.
  • Deane grammar school, Bolton.
  • Farnworth grammar school, Bolton.
  • Whitefield Stand grammar school for boys, Bury.
  • Whitefield Stand grammar school for girls, Bury.
  • Prestwich St. Peters RC boys grammar school, Bury.
  • Oswestry high school for boys.
  • Oswestry girls high school.

Forward to