HC Deb 06 December 1979 vol 975 cc330-1W
Mr. Cryer

asked the Secretary of State for Industry what is the present membership of the Waste Management Advisory Committee, the subjects at present being examined and the number of meetings which have taken place during 1979.

Mr. David Mitchell [pursuant to his reply, 5 December 1979]

The Waste Management Advisory Council has met twice in 1979, in February and in April. A report by a sub-committee of the council on returnable bottles and containers for liquids is nearing completion. The membership of the council is as follows:

Mr. J. J. Benn, Chairman and Chief Executive, Reed Paper and Board Ltd.

Mr. J. M. Bissett, Director, James Moores Ltd. President British Reclamation Industries Confederation.

Mr. R. Bottini, former General Secretary, National Union of Agricultural and Allied Workers.

Mr. T. Burke, former Executive Director, Friends of the Earth.

Mr. J. R. Crane, Assistant Managing Director, IMI Ltd. Past President of British Non-Ferrous Metals Federation.

Rt. Hon. Lord Darling of Hillsborough, Member of Parliament for Hillsborough (Sheffield) 1950–74. Minister of State, Board of Trade 1964–68.

Mrs. Janet Graham, Member of the National Federation of Consumer Groups.

Mr. V. C. Hender, Managing Director,

United Glass Ltd.

Mr. D. B. Huffman, former Vice Chairman Metal Box Ltd. and Chairman British Tin Box Manufacturers Federation. Member of the Industry Committee for Packaging and the Environment.

Mr. T. Middlebrooke, Works Manager, Refuse Disposal Department, London Borough of Camden. Member of NALGO.

Mr. C. Mort, Managing Director, Thos. W. Ward Ltd.

Mr. J. Skitt, County Waste Disposal Engineer, Staffordshire County Council.

Mr. E. V. Southam, Director, Dickinson Robinson Group. Chairman CBI Industrial Waste Panel and Member of CBI Environmental and Technical Legislation Committee.

Mr. G. A. Thomas, Chief Environment Officer, South Yorkshire County Council.

Dr. G. H. Thomson, former Administrative Co-ordinator BP Chemicals Ltd.

Councillor Rear Admiral R. C. P. Wainwright, C.B., D.S.C., Member of Stratford-upon-Avon District Council, Warwickshire.

Baroness White, President, Council for the Protection of Rural Wales. Member, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution.