HC Deb 06 November 1978 vol 957 cc93-4W
Mr. David Mitchell

asked the Prime Minister (1) whether he will publish a list of candidates drawn up by the United Kingdom for submission to the Council of Ministers for appointment to the Economic and Social Committee of the Common Market, together with a brief digest of their qualifications;

(2) how many of the list of candidates submitted to the Council of Ministers for appointment to the Economic and Social Committee of the Common Market have practical, personal and recent experience of the running of a small business.

The Prime Minister

, pursuant to his reply [Official Report, 17th July 1978; Vol. 954, c. 39], gave the following answer:

The United Kingdom Members of the EEC Economic and Social Committee, whose appointments were confirmed at the Foreign Affairs Council meeting on 19th September, are:

Group I—Employers

Mr. Ernest Mills

British Gas Corporation.

Mr. Maurice Zinkin

Unilever Limited.

Mr. Herbert Loebl, O.B.E.

Founder and Chairman Glass Ceramics.

Mr. M. J. F. Wylie, M.B.E.

Director Anglo-American Asphalt Ltd.

Mr. J. Gallacher

Co-operative Union and International Co-operative Alliance. Member of the Retail Consortium.

Mr. W. G. N. Miller, O.B.E.

Director Save and Prosper Group Ltd.

Mr. B. R. V. Z. de Ferranti

Deputy Chairman Ferranti Limited.

Mr. F. S. Law

Part-time Member of the National Freight Corporation. Director of B. Elliot and Company Limited.

Group II—Employees

Mr. R. W. Buckton

General Secretary Associated Society of Locomotive Engineers and Firemen.

Mr. David Basnett

General Secretary General and Municipal Workers Union. Immediate Past President of the Trades Union Congress. Vice-Chairman of the General Council of the TUC.

Mr. J. Gormley, O.B.E.

President National Union of Mine Workers.

The Right Hon. L. Murray, O.B.E.

General Secretary of the TUC.

Mr. J. Macgougan

General Secretary Tailor and Garment Workers Union.

Mrs. Marie Patterson

National Officer Transport and General Workers Union.

Mr. J. Milne

General Secretary Scottish Trades Union Congress.

Mr. T. Jenkins

Trades Union Congress International Department.

Group III—Other Interests

Mr. S. G. Hall

Managing Director Kilco Chemicals Ltd. Chairman, Fishery Harbour Authority and Member of Fisheries Conservancy Board, Northern Ireland.

Dr. A. Sloman

Vice Chancellor Essex University.

Mr. G. Prys Davies

Solicitor, Former Chairman Welsh Hospitals Board.

Mr. D. Williams, C.V.O.

Formerly Deputy Secretary Ministry of Overseas Development.

Mr. R. C. Butler

National Farmers Union.

Mr. R. L. Doble

Solicitor, Former Chief Executive and Town Clerk to the London Borough of Greenwich.

Miss Eirlys Roberts, O.B.E.

Former Deputy Director Consumers Association.

Mrs. Mary Clark

Lecturer in Law Belfast University.