HC Deb 22 May 1978 vol 950 cc439-40W
Mr. Skeet

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment as he proposes to set specific discharge limits for each significant radionuclide, if he will list those for which limits have already been set and those to which the provision will now be extended.

Mr. Shore

The existing authorisation under the Radioactive Substances Act 1960 for the discharge of liquid radioactive wastes from the Windscale reprocessing plant sets specific limits for the discharge of ruthenium 106 and strontium 90. There are also limits on total discharges of all beta and of all alpha emitters. This authorisation is currently being reviewed. Amongst the radionuclides for which the authorising Departments are considering setting limits are

  • Platonium 239
  • Americium 241
  • Iodine 129
  • Ruthenium 106
  • Strontium 90
  • Zirconium 95/Niobium 95
  • Caesium 134/137 and
  • Tritium

Limits will continue to be placed on the total discharges of all other beta emitters and all alpha emitters.

A further revision of the authorisation will be necessary in due course to take account of discharges from the proposed THORP plant.