HC Deb 16 March 1978 vol 946 c293W
Miss Richardson

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department how many persons arriving at London Heathrow since 1st January 1977 seeking permission to enter the United Kingdom as visitors have been refused entry and have been detained at the Harmondsworth Centre; and how many of these were citizens of each of the following countries: Bangladesh, Egypt, India, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Pakistan, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, South Yemen, Spain and the United Arab Emirates.

Dr. Summerskill

The detailed breakdown asked for could not be obtained without disproportionate cost, but the following are the numbers of persons detained under the Immigration Act 1971 at the Harmondsworth Detention Centre during 1977 pending further examination by immigration officers or pending removal after being refused entry:

Nationals or citizens of:
Bangladesh 138
Egypt 147
India 493
Israel 29
Japan 13
Jordan 18
Kuwait 11
Lebanon 17
Pakistan 698
Portugal 100
Saudi Arabia 30
Spain 72
United Arab Emirates 2
Total 3,388.

In addition, nine nationals of the Yemen Arab Republic and the People's Democratic Republic of Yemen—Southern Yemen—were detained.

Forward to