HC Deb 19 July 1978 vol 954 cc236-7W
Mr. Macfarlane

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment which sports grounds have received financial resources from the Football Grounds Improvement Trust

Mr. Denis Howell

I am told that the following Football League and Scottish League clubs, whose grounds have been designated under the Safety of Sports Grounds Act 1975, have received financial aid from the Football Grounds Improvement Trust.

Football League clubs

  • Aston Villa.
  • Birmingham City.
  • Bristol City.
  • Cardiff City (Ninian Park).
  • Coventry City.
  • Derby County.
  • Ipswich Town.
  • Leicester City.
  • Manchester City.
  • Middlesbrough.
  • Newcastle United.
  • Norwich City.
  • Queens Park Rangers.
  • Stoke City.
  • Sunderland.
  • Tottenham Hotspur.
  • West Bromwich Albion.
  • Wrexham.

Scottish League clubs

  • Aberdeen.
  • Ayi United.
  • Dundee United.
  • Hibernian.
  • Kilmarnock.
  • Motherwell
  • Partick Thistle.
  • Queens Park (Hampden Park).

Grants to several other designated clubs are in the pipeline.

The trust is an independent body formed by the Football League and the Pools Promoters Association. Its primary objective is to provide financial assistance to designated League clubs towards the cost of safety work required by the Safety of Sports Grounds Act, but as more funds become available it will be able to help with more general improvements.