HC Deb 26 January 1978 vol 942 cc684-5W
Mr. Grist

asked the Lord President of the Council what are the names of the members of the Optical Council, their dates of appointment and the interest represented by each member.

Members appointed by the Privy Council Currently appointed
Sir Eric Richardson, C.B.E., Ph.D., B.Eng., F.I.E.E., A.M.I., Mech.E., F.P.S., Chairman (Adviser on educational matters) 1st January 1974
Professor J. P. Quilliam, MB., B.S., M.Sc, D.Sc, F.R.C.P., Deputy Chairman (Medical practitioner engaged in pre-clinical training) 1st January 1974
W. Scott Charles, C.A., Honorary Treasurer 1st January 1977
Dr. E. Colin-Russ, O.B.E., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., General medical practitioner 1st January 1974
Councillor Mrs. D. Bellerby, J.P., Lay member 6th April 1976
Dame Mary Green, D.B.E., B.A., Lay member 1st January 1977
Franklyn Williams, C.M.G., Lay member 1st January 1974
Members appointed by Examining Bodies
P. A. Smith, F.B.O.A., A.M.C.T., British Optical Association 1st January 1974
C. J. Eldridge, LL.B., Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers 1st January 1974
G. McGrath, F.S.A.O., F.B.O.A., Scottish Association of Opticians 1st January 1974
G. D. Miller, F.S.A.O., D.C.L.P., Jointly by three bodies mentioned above 1st January 1974
E. S. P. Ford, F.A.D.O. (Hons.), Association of Dispensing Opticians 1st January 1974
Member appointed by Ophthalmic Training Institutions
Professor G. V. Ball, M.Sc, F.B.O.A., H.D 1st January 1974
Members elected by registered ophthalmic opticians
N. Archbold, F.B.O.A., F.S.M.C, D.C.L.P. 1st January 1977
A. S. Sowden, F.B.O.A., D.C.L.P., D.Orth. 1st January 1977
R. F. Banks, F.S.M.C, D.Orth. 1st January 1977
N. W. Gunn, F.B.O.A., F.S.M.C, C.L. Cert. (B.O.A.) 1st January 1977
E. G. Woodward, F.B.O.A., F.S.M.C, D.C.L.P. 1st January 1977
Members elected by registered dispensing opticians
M. G. Aird, F.C.I.S. 1st January 1977
N. H. Wingate, F.S.M.C, F.B.O.A., F.A.D.O. 1st January 1977
Members appointed by the Faculty of Ophthalmologists
A. G. Cross, M.A., M.D., F.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. 1st January 1977
R. B. Harcourt, J.P., M.A., M.B., B.Chir., F.R.C.S., D.O. 1st January 1977
M. J. Gilkes, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S. 1st January 1977
W. M. Haining, M.B., Ch.B., F.R.C.S.Ed. 1st January 1977
Member appointed by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland
C. Vance, M.B.E. 1st January 1974

Forward to