HL Deb 03 March 1977 vol 380 cc839-40WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

  1. 1. What are the learned disciplines of each academic member of the University Grants Commission;
  2. 2. How long each member of the UGC has served on that body; and
  3. 3. Whether members are appointed for a given period of years, and if so, what periods.

The MINISTER of STATE, DEPARTMENT of EDUCATION and SCIENCE (Lord Donaldson of Kingsbridge)

The Chairman of the University Grants Committee, Sir Frederick Dainton, was appointed on 1st October 1973 and is a chemist. The other members drawn from the universities, their academic disciplines and dates of first appointment are as follows:

Professor R. J. C. Atkinson Archaeology 1.1.73
Professor A. J. Brown Economics 1.1.69
Professor Violet R. Cane Statistics 1.6.74
Professor K. M. Clayton Geography 1.6.74
Professor J. Cruickshank French 1.1.70
Professor T. W. Goodwin Biochemistry 1.6.74
Professor B. G. Gowenlock Chemistry 1.1.76
Professor J. C. Gunn Physics 1.12.73
Professor N. C. Hunt Business Studies 1.1.69
Professor D. S. Jones Mathematics 1.10.76
Professor Barbara Strang English & Linguistics 1.1.75
Professor Sir Charles Stuart-Harris Medicine 1.10.68
Professor J. C. West Electrical Engineering 1.5.73
Dr. Anne Whiteman History 1.5.76

The non-university members and their dates of first appointment are:

Sir Donald Barron 1.4.72
Mr. D. P. J. Browning 1.6.74
Mr. J. M. Ferguson 1.2.77
Miss M. Hulme 1.12.72
Mr. J. Munn 1.1.73

Members are usually appointed for five years initially. Re-appointments are for up to five years.

House adjourned at eleven minutes past eight o'clock.