HC Deb 26 January 1977 vol 924 cc683-4W
Mr. Kilroy-Silk

asked the Secretary of State for Social Services when the Advisory Committee on Alcoholism was set up; who its members are and what are their qualifications; what advice it has given him; and what else it has achieved.

Mr. Moyle

The Committee was appointed in March 1975. The membership is listed below. It consists of persons drawn from the healing professions, social services, industry, voluntary organisations and the administration of justice, with a wide range of experience and concern about problems related to alcohol.

The Committee's advice has so far included a report on the health implications of changes in the licensing laws. The promotional work of the sub-group concerned with services for homeless alcoholics has stimulated a greater awareness of the needs and problems of this group.


Professor W. I. N. Kessel, Professor of Psychiatry, University of Manchester.

Original membership:

  • Dr. D. I. Acres.
  • Mr. F. Adams.
  • Mrs. E. Barker.
  • Dr. R. Bluglass.
  • Mrs. P. Brown.
  • Mrs. J. E. Chrismas, C.B.E.
  • Mr. T. Cook.
  • Dr. W. H. Cook.
  • Dr. D. L. Davies.
  • Mr. G. J. Dear.
  • Dr. J. Griffiths Edwards.
  • Father P. Healy.
  • Mr. D. Hebblethwaite.
  • Dr. H. H. John.
  • Mr. G. Lanagan.
  • Colonel (Dr.) W. T. B. McAllister.
  • Mr. G. P. D. Marsh.
  • Mr. L. Rushton.
  • Mr. D. Rutherford.
  • Mr. V. J. P. Scerri.
  • Mr. F. E. Strong.
  • Mr. D. W. Taylor.
  • Sir John Taylor, O.B.E.
  • Professor W. H. Trethowan, C.B.E.
  • Miss M. Walton.
  • Miss M. J. Welch.
  • Dr. J. M. Werner.

Later appointees:

  • January 1976: Mr. G. Gawlinski.
  • May 1976: Dr. R. G. Brims Young.
  • July 1976: Professor H. Gwynne Jones.