HC Deb 09 February 1977 vol 925 c681W
Mr. Mike Thomas

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list in the Official Report those countries whose citizens are required to be in possesion of a visa or similar documentation before being allowed entry to the United Kingdom.

Dr. Summerskill

The "Statement of Immigration Rules for Control on Entry: EEC and Other Non-Commonwealth Nationals" (HC 81) provides in paragraph 8 and the appendix, as amended, that visas are required by:—Stateless persons and other holders of non-national documents (except holders of certain refugee documents coming on visits of three months or less), and

Nationals of:—

Europe Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, German Democratic Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, USSR.

Asia Pakistan who seek admission to the United Kingdom in accordance with paragraph 9 of the Statement. All other countries except Bahrain, Iran, Israel, Japan, Kuwait, Maldive Islands, Republic of Korea, Qatar and Turkey.

Africa All countries except Algeria, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia and the Republic of South Africa.

America Cuba, Surinam.

In addition, entry certificates are required by Commonwealth citizens and British protected persons in the circumstances set out in paragraph 11 of the "Statement of Immigration Rules for Control on Entry: Commonwealth Citizens" (HC 79).