HC Deb 07 February 1977 vol 925 cc523-4W
Mr. Lipton

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department who are the members of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs; by whom they were appointed; and what are their qualifications.

Dr. Summerskill

The members of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs are appointed by the Home Secretary. The Chairman is Sir Robert Bradlaw, CBE, DSc, FRCS, FDSRCS, who is Hon. Professor of Oral Pathology, Royal College of Surgeons of England, and Emeritus Professor of Oral Medicine, University of London. The membership is as follows:

  • T. H. Bewley, MA, MD, FRCPI, FRCPsych, Psychiatrist.
  • My hon. Friend the Member for South Shields (Mr. Blenkinsop).
  • J. C. Bloomfield, OBE, FPS, FBOA, JP,* Retail pharmacist.
  • I. McG. Boden, MA, Pharmaceutical industrialist.
  • A. Bristow, Consultant to the Health Education Council.
  • H. E. Carter, MRCVS, Veterinary surgeon. D. Cox, Youth worker.
  • Mrs. M. J. Davis, BA, Headmistress.
  • Miss A. H. Dixon, Social worker.
  • Dr. J. Griffith Edwards, MA, DM, DPM, MRCP,*Psychiatrist.
  • F. D. Flower, MBE, BA, BScEcon, Principal, College of Education.
  • W. C. Fordyce, BSc, MEd, Deputy Director of Education.
  • Dr. W. W. Fulton, FRCGP, General practioner.
  • Sir Ronald Gibson, CBE, LLD, FRCS, FRCGP, General practitioner.
  • Professor J. D. P. Graham, MD, FRCPEdin, FRFPS, FRSE,* Professor of pharmacology.
  • Mrs. J. Hart, MA, University lecturer.
  • Dr. I. Pierce James MA, MB(Camb), MRCPsych, MANZCP, DPM(Lond), Forensic psychiatrist.
  • Professor W. I. N. Kessel, MD, FRCP, FRCPEdin, FRCPsych, Psychiatrist.
  • D. J. King, MD, MRCPsych, Psychiatrist.
  • E. Lewis, SRN, RMN, DMS, Nurse.
  • P. A. Myers, QPM,* Chief constable.
  • M. J. Power, JP,* Lecturer in social administration.
  • W. E. C. Robins, Metropolitan stipendiary magistrate.
  • Mrs. R. Runciman, BA, Interviewer, Citizens' Advice Bureau.
  • Dr. B. C. Saunders, CBE, MA, PhD, ScD, DSc, FRIC,* Academic scientist.
  • R. E. Searchfield,* Social worker.
  • J. W. P. Taylor, BA, Principal, College of Education.
  • * Indicates member of the Working Group on Cannabis.

Back to
Forward to