HC Deb 05 December 1977 vol 940 cc504-5W
24. Mr. Giles Shaw

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection whether, in the course of the Government's review of the legislation and institutions governing competition policy, he will consider taking further measures to transfer the functions of the Price Commission to the Office of Fair Trading.

Mr. Gow

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection what proposals he has to merge the Price Commission with the Monopolies Commission.

Mr. Hattersley

The scope of the review was announced on 28th November. Initially, the review will concentrate on policy rather than on institutions. But I am in principle sympathetic to some form of eventual merger between the institutions responsible for implementing prices policy and competition policy.

Mr. Holland

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection if he will list the current members of the Price Commission, stating in each case the salary or fee paid and what information he has on the principal occupation of each member.

Mr. Maclennan

The current members of the Price Commission are:

Chairman (full-time):

  • Mr. Charles Williams.

Deputy Chairmen:

  • Dr. Gordon Hobday, Chairman of Boots Co. Ltd.
  • Mr. John Hughes, Vice Principal of Ruskin College, Oxford.
  • Mr. Seamus Sweetman, Vice Chairman of Unilever Ltd.


  • Mr. N. I. Bond Williams, a director of the Delta Metal Co. Ltd.
  • Mrs. Mollie Bray, a housewife. Mr. A. J. Colman, Burton Group.
  • Mrs. Brenda Dean, a member of the National Executive of SOGAT.
  • Mr. Alec Donnet, CBE JP, Scottish Secretary of the NUGMW.
  • Professor D. C. Hague, Manchester Business School.
  • Mr. Ian Hay Davison, Managing Partner of Arthur Andersen & Co.
  • 505
  • Mr. Harry Hill, Administrative Director, Beecham Products Ltd.
  • Sir Noel Larmour, KCMG, formerly Deputy Secretary of State in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.
  • Mr. Ronald Richardson, CBE, formerly Deputy Chairman of the Electricity Council.
  • Mrs. Rachel Waterhouse, a member of the National Consumer Council.

The Chairman receives an annual salary of £18,000. The salaries payable to the three part-time Deputy Chairmen and to the 11 part-time members are £6,500 and £3,600 respectively. These salaries are adjustable pro rata according to the amount of approved time spent on the Commission's work.

Forward to