HC Deb 21 June 1976 vol 913 cc419-20W
Mr. Wm. Ross

asked the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland (1) what are the areas in Northern Ireland where a full police service cannot be provided;

(2) if he will list the areas to which he referred in the Official Report, 14th June, column 47, in which the RUC did not operate for the 50 years of existence of the Province.

Mr. Merlyn Rees,

pursuant to his reply [Official Report, 18th June 1976; Vol. 913, c. 290], gave the following information:

Basic police services are provided in all parts of Northern Ireland, but there are a number of difficult areas where police duties are" normally performed with Army support. These areas are'

1. Belfast:

  1. A Division—the Markets (Upper and Lower).
  2. B Division—the whole division except a small area off Springfield Road.
  3. C Division—Ardoyne and the Bone.
  4. D Division—New Lodge and Unity Flats.
  5. F Division—Lenadoon, Twinbrook and Ladybrook.

2. Londonderry:

  • The Bogside, Creggan and Shantallow.

3. Rural:

  • Crossmaglen, Forkhill and the Clady area of Strabane.

The RUC has operated in all areas in the Province since its formation. However, during previous terrorist campaigns it was necessary for the force to adapt its operations in areas of possible terrorist attack. Consequently the RUC did not provide "normal" policing in those areas, as it is recognised in the remainder of the United Kingdom.