HC Deb 29 July 1976 vol 916 cc425-8W
Mr. Younger

asked the Secretary of State for Employment whether he will publish a list of the local employment exchange areas in Scotland, specifying which parliamentary constituency or constituencies each one serves.

Mr. Golding,

pursuant to his reply [Official Report, 26th July 1976; Vol.

Parliamentary Constituency Local Offices within Constituency W(Wholly), M (Mainly), P (Partly)
1. Aberdeenshire, East Fraserburgh (W), Peterhead (W), Aberdeen (P)
2. Aberdeenshire, West Huntly (W), Inverurie (W), Aberdeen (M)
3. Aberdeen, North Aberdeen (P)
4. Aberdeen, South Aberdeen (P)
5. Angus, North and Mearns Aberdeen (P), Stonehaven (W), Brechin (W), Montrose (W), Arbroath (P)
6. Angus, South Forfar (W), Arbroath (M), Carnoustie (W), Dundee (M)
7. Argyll Oban (M), Lochgilphead (W), Donoon (W), Rothesay (P). Campbeltown (W), Fort William (P)
8. Ayr Ayr (P), Kilmarnock (P)
9. Ayrshire, Central Kilbirnie (P), Dairy (W), Kilwinning (W), Irvine (W)
10. Ayrshire, South Cunnock (W), Ayr (M), Girvan (W)
11. Banff Buckie (W), Banff (W)
12. Berwick and East Lothian Musselburgh (P), Tranent (W), Haddington (W), Fyemouth (W), Galashiels (P), Kelso (P)
13. Bothwell Bellshill (W), Uddingston (M), Airdrie (P), Coalbridge (P), Motherwell (P), Parkhead (P)

916, c.82],gave the following information:

The Manpower Services Commission the has provided me with the following list of the Employment Service Agency's local areas by Scottish parliamentary constituencies. Local office boundaries are not coincident with those for parliamentary constituencies, and the list indicates the extent to which each local office area falls within each constituency.

Parliamentary Constituency Local Offices within Constituency W (Wholly), M (Mainly), P (Partly)
14. Bute and North Ayrshire Rothesay (P), Largs (W), Saltcoats (M)
15. Caithness and Sutherland Wick (W), Thurso (W)
16. Clackmannan and East Stirlingshire Alloa (M), Falkirk (M), Grangemouth (P), Linlithgow (P)
17. Coatbridge and Airdrie Coatbridge (P), Airdrie (P)
18. Dumfries Sanauhar (W), Dumfries (M), Annan (W), Lockerbie (W), Hawick (P)
19. Dunbartonshire, East Cumbernauld (W), Kilsyth (P), Kirkintilloch (P), Maryhill (P)
20. Dunbartonshire, Central Dunbarton (P), Clydebank (P), Maryhill (P)
21. Dunbartonshire, West Helensburgh (W), Alexandria (W), Dumbarton (P)
22. Dundee, East Dundee (P)
23. Dundee, West Dundee (P)
24. Dunfermline Alloa (P), Dunfermline (W), Burntisland (P), Cowdenbeath (P), Inverkeithing (W)
25. East Kilbride East Kilbride (P), Uddingston (P), Blantyre (W), Glasgow SS (P), Hamilton (P)
26. Edinburgh, Central Edinburgh (P)
27. Edinburgh, East Portobello (W), Musselburgh (P), Edinburgh (P), Leith (P)
28. Edinburgh, Leith Leith (P)
29. Edinburgh, North Edinburgh (P), Leith (P)
30. Edinburgh, Pentlands Edinburgh (P)
31. Edinburgh, South Edinburgh (P)
32. Edinburgh, West Edinburgh (P)
33. Fife, Central Cowdenbeath (P), Glenrothes (W), Leven (P), Kirkcaldy (P)
34. Fife, East Cupar (W), Leven (M), St. Andrews (W), Dundee (P)
35. Galloway Dumfries (P), Castle Douglas (W), Newton Stewart (W), Stranraer (W)
36. Glasgow, Cathcart Shawlands (P)
37. Glasgow, Central Glasgow Central (P)
38. Glasgow, Craigton Hillington (P), Govan (M), Shawlands (P)
39. Glasgow, Carscadden Clydebank (P), Partick (P)
40. Glasgow, Govan Hillington (P), Govan (P), Kinning Park (P)
41. Glasgow, Hillhead Partick (P), Maryhill (P)
42. Glasgow, Kelvingrove Maryhill (P), Partick (P), Glasgow Central (P)
43. Glasgow, Maryhill Maryhill (P), Springburn (P)
44. Glasgow, Pollok Shawlands (P), Barrhead (P)
45. Glasgow, Provan Parkhead (P), Springburn (P), Easterhouse (W)
46. Glasgow, Queens Park Shawlands (P)
47. Glasgow, Shettleston Glasgow Centre (P), Parkhead (P)
48. Glasgow, Springburn Springburn (P), Parkhead (P)
49. Greenock and Port Glasgow Greenock (P), Port Glasgow(P)
50. Hamilton Hamilton (P), Larkhall (P)
51. Inverness Portree (W), Fort William (P), Inverness (P)
52. Kilmarnock Kilmarnock (M)
53. Kinross and West Perthshire Perth (P), Crieff (W), Stirling (P), Cowdenbeath (M)
54. Kirkcaldy Kirkcaldy (P), Burntisland (P), Leven (P), Cowdenbeath (P)
55. Lanark Lanark (W), Carluke (W), Lesmahagow (W), Larkhall (P), Wishaw (P)
56. Lanarkshire, North Shotts (W), Wishaw (P), Airdrie (M), Motherwell (P), Coatbridge (P), Kirkintilloch (P), Parkhead (P), Springburn (P)
57. Midlothian Dalkeith (W), Livingston (M), West Calder (W), Musselburgh (P), Penicuik (P), Edinburgh (P), Broxburn (P), Loanhead (P), Galashiels (P)
58. Moray and Nairn Nairn (W), Forres (W), Grantown-on-Spey (W), Elgin (W)
59. Motherwell and Wishaw Motherwell (P), Wishaw (P)
60. Orkney and Shetland Kirkwall (W), Lerwick (W)
61. Paisley Barrhead (P), Paisley (P), Renfrew (P)
62. Perth and East Perthshire Blairgowrie (W), Perth (M), Dundee (P)
63. Renfrewshire, East Barrhead (M), Shawlands (M), Johnstone (P), Paisley (P)
64. Renfrewshire, West Greenock (M), Port Glasgow (W), Johnstone (M), Paisley (P), Renfrew (P), Kilbirnie (P)
65. Ross and Cromarty Inverness (P), Dingwall (W), Invergordon (W)
66. Roxburgh, Selkirk and Peebles Galashiels (M), Peebles (W), Hawick (M), Kelso (M)
67. Rutherglen Cambuslang (W), Rutherglen (W), Parkhead (P), Uddingston (P), East Kilbride (P), Shawlands (P)
68. Stirlingshire, West Stirling (P), Maryhill (P), Kirkintilloch (M), Kilsyth (P), Denny (W), Falkirk (P)
69. Stirling, Falkirk and Grangemouth Stirling (P), Falkirk (P), Grangemouth (P)
70. Western Isles. Stornoway (W)
71. West Lothian Bathgate (W), Bo'ness (W), Broxburn (M), Linlithgow (M), Livingston (P)

Back to