HC Deb 29 April 1976 vol 910 cc135-6W
Mr. Marquand

asked the Prime Minister if he will announce the composition of the United Kingdom delegation to the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister

The Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 3rd to 7th May. I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation this year will consist of 10 Members of the Labour Party, seven Members of the Conservative Party and one Member of the Liberal Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates

The appointments of Conservative and Liberal representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the leaders of those parties.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.

Representatives from the Government Benches will be: The hon. Member for Houghton-le-Spring (Mr. Urwin), who will act as Leader. The hon. Members for: Hackney, South and Shoreditch (Mr. Brown). Warley, East (Mr. Faulds). Rother Valley (Mr. Hardy). Newham, North West (Mr. Lewis). Penistone (Mr. Mendelson). Farnworth (Mr. Roper). Derby, North (Mr. Whitehead). and the Lord Darling of Hillsborough and the Lord Peddie.

Representatives from the Conservative Party will be: The hon. Members for: Southend, West (Mr. Channon). Aldershot (Mr. Critchley). Harborough (Mr. Farr). Solihull (Mr. Grieve). Ravensbourne (Mr. Hunt). Harrow, West (Mr. Page). Sevenoaks (Sir J. Rodgers).

The representative from the Liberal Party will be: The hon. Member for Roxburgh, Selkirk and Peebles (Mr. Steel).

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government Benches: The hon. Members for: Sunderland, South (Mr. Bagier). Glasgow, Maryhill (Mr. Craigen). Kingston upon Hull, Central (Mr. McNamara). Dudley, West (Dr. Phipps). Bolton, West (Mrs. Taylor). Gloucestershire, West (Mr. Watkinson). and the Baroness Phillips. and the Lord Wallace of Coslany.

From the Conservative Party: The hon. Members for: Torbay (Sir F. Bennett). Colchester (Mr. Buck). Bournemouth, East (Mr. Cordle). Eye (Sir H. Harrison). Twickenham (Mr. Jessel). Norfolk, South West (Mr. Hawkins). Hastings (Mr. Warren). and the Lord Duncan-Sandys. and the Lord Selsdon.

From the Liberal Party: The Lord Beaumont.

Forward to