HC Deb 27 April 1976 vol 910 cc67-8W
Mr. Arthur Lewis

asked the Secretary of State for Prices and Consumer Protection when the Metrication Board was set up; who constitutes the board; who are the chairman and vice-chairman of the board; what salary or expenses are drawn; and what has been the total cost to the board to date.

Mr. John Fraser

The decision to set up the Metrication Board was reported to Parliament in a statement made by the Minister of Technology on 26th July 1968.—[Vol. 769, c. 1167–71.] The board came into existence in May 1969. The decision was endorsed in the White Paper on Metrication of February 1972 (Cmnd. 4880).

The members of the board are appointed by my right hon. Friend the Secretary of State and are as follows:

  • Lord Orr-Ewing (Chairman).
  • Baroness White (Vice-Chairman).
  • P. J. L. Homan (Director).
  • M. A. Abrams.
  • B. N. Baxter.
  • Miss F. K. College.
  • E. Cust.
  • D. H. Darbishire.
  • D. C. Dewar.
  • J. M. Ferguson.
  • D. Hobman.
  • Miss D. D. Hyams.
  • D. M. Landau.
  • 68
  • Professor M. L. McGlashan.
  • H. P. Scanlon.
  • Mrs. A. Stanley.
  • Mrs. J. Upward.