HC Deb 13 April 1976 vol 909 c500W
Mrs. Hayman

asked the Secretary of State for Industry whether he will announce further appointments to the Organising Committee for British Aerospace.

Mr. Varley

I have appointed the following as members of the Organising Committee for British Aerospace, under the Chairmanship of Lord Beswick:

Mr. L. W. Buck—President of the Confederation of Shipbuilding and Engineering Unions, and General Secretary, National Union of Sheet Metal Workers, Coppersmiths and Domestic Heating Engineers.

Mr. A. H. C. Greenwood, CBE—Chairman, British Aircraft Corporation Ltd.

Mr. G. R. Jefferson, CBE—Chairman and Managing Director, Guided Weapons Division, British Aircraft Corporation Ltd.

Dr. A. W. Pearce, CBE—Chairman, Esso Petroleum Co. Ltd.

Mr. E. G. Rubython—General Manager, Hawker Siddeley Aviation Ltd.

Mr. J. T. Stamper—Technical Director, Hawker Siddeley Aviation Ltd.

It is my intention in due course to appoint Mr. Greenwood as a full-time Deputy Chairman of British Aerospace; Messrs. Buck, Jefferson, Rubython and Stamper as full-time members; and Dr. Pearce as a part-time member. I expect to make further appointments in due course.

Back to