HC Deb 27 March 1975 vol 889 cc293-5W
Mr. Skeet

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list by continent all the countries which are associated with the EEC.

Mr. Hattersley:

The following countries have agreements with the European Economic Community: A. Free Trade Agreements under Article 113 of the Treaty of Rome

  • Europe:
  • Switzerland.
  • Sweden.
  • Austria.
  • Iceland.
  • Norway.
  • Finland.
  • Spain.
  • Portugal.
B. Association Agreements under Article 238 of the Treaty of Rome
  • Europe/Asia
  • Greece.
  • Turkey.
  • Cyprus.
  • *Malta.
  • Africa:
  • *Morocco.
  • *Tunisia.
C. Trade and Aid: The Lome Convention: Africa Botswana, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Dahomeny, Ethiopian, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Equitorial Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malagasy Republic, Mali, Mauritius, Mauritaina, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Upper Volta Zaire, Zambia. Caribbean Bahamas, Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago. Pacific Fiji, Tonga, Western Samoa. D. Trade Agreemetns under Article 113 of the Treaty of Rome
  • Europe
  • Yugoslavia.
  • Africa
  • Arab Republic of Egypt.
  • Asia
  • Lebanon.
  • Israel.
  • India (Articles 113 and 114).
  • † Pakistan (on certain products).
  • Thailand (on certain products).
  • Philippines (on handicrafts).
  • Indonesia (on handicrafts).
  • †Sri Lanka (on handicrafts).
  • †Bangladesh (on jute products).
  • South America
  • Argentina.
  • Uruguay.
  • Brazil.

* Negotiations are in train towards a panded association agreement.

† Negotiations are in train towards a comprehensive trade agreement.

‡ An Association Agreement is also being negotiated with Algeria.