HC Deb 26 March 1975 vol 889 c159W
Mr. Hardy

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs what was the population of dependent and associated territories of the British Commonwealth at the latest available date.

Mr. Ennals

Statistics at present available give the population of British Dependent Territories and Associated States as 5,215,190, made up as follows:

Dependent Territories:
Belize 127,000
Bermuda 55,000
British Antratic Territory *
British Indian Ocean Territory *
British Solomon Islands Protectorate 176,000
British Virgin Islands 10,500
Cayman Islands 11,000
Falkland Islands and Dependencies 2,000
Gibraltar 29,500
Gilbert & Ellice Islands Colony 59,000
Hong Kong 4,200,000
Montserrat 12,600
New Hebrides (Anglo-French Condominium) 86.000
Pitcairn 90
St. Helena and Dependencies (Ascension Island & Tristan da Cunha) 5,500
Seychelles 47,000
Turks & Caicos Islands 6,000
Associated States:
Antigua 62,000
Dominica 73,000
St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla 57,000
St. Lucia 105,000
St. Vincent 91,000

(Additionally, Rhodesia, which is constitutionally a dependent territory in a state of rebellion against the Crown. has a population of 6,100,000.)

* No permanent population.

Forward to