HC Deb 21 June 1974 vol 875 c278W
Mr. Clemitson

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science what progress he has made in the setting up of the independent review body to examine the pay structure and levels of remuneration of non-university teachers in Great Britain which he announced on 24th May.

Mr. Prentice

My right hon. Friend the Secretary of State for Scotland and I have appointed the right hon. Douglas Houghton, CH, to be the Chairman of the Committee of Inquiry into teachers' pay.

The other members of the committee are: Mr. Alexander M. Donnet, Mr. Roy A. Grantham, the right hon. Margaret Herbison, Professor Maurice Kogan, Mr. Ian Mackintosh, Mr. Robert Leigh-Pemberton, Lady Plowden, DBE, Dr. Anthony E. Ritchie, Dr. Ronald C. Trees.

The secretariat of the committee will be provided by the Office of Manpower Economics.

The terms of reference of the committee are: To examine the pay of non-university teachers in Great Britain and to make recommendations.