HL Deb 28 January 1974 vol 349 cc162-4WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What the current position is with regard to the number of States which are parties to The Hague and Montreal Conventions.


The lists below show which States are signatories of the Conventions and which of those states have subsequently ratified. They also show which States, not being signatories of the Conventions, have acceded thereto.

The lists are based on signatories, ratifications and accessions in London, and those notified to Her Majesty's Government by the Governments of the Soviet Union and the United States of America as having taken place in Moscow and Washington. Both Conventions are now in force.

The Hague Convention for the Suppression of the Unlawful Seizure of Aircraft done at The Hague on December 16, 1970: Signatories, Ratifications and Assessions.

Signature (subsequent ratifications are indicated by (R)):

United Kingdom (R), USSR (R), USA (R), Afghanistan, Argentina (R), Australia (R), Austria, Barbadoes (R), Belgium (R), Brazil (R), Bulgaria (R), Burundi, Byelorussia (R), Cambodia, Canada (R), Chad (R), Chile (R), Colombia (R), Costa Rica (R), Czechoslovakia (R), Dahomey (R), Denmark (R), Dominican Republic, Ecuador (R), Equatorial Guinea, El Salvador (R), Ethiopia, Fiji (R), Finland (R), France (R), Gabon (R), Gambia, Germany (Dr) (R), Germany (FR), Ghana, Greece (R), Guatemala, Hungary (R), India, Indonesia, Iran (R), Iraq (R), Israel (R), Italy, Jamaica, Japan (R), Jordan (R), Kuwait, Laos, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico (R), Mongolia (R), Netherlands (R), New Zealand, Niger (R), Norway (R), Pakistan (R), Panama (R), Paraguay (R), Philippines (R), Poland (R), Portugal (R), Romania (R), Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa (R), Spain (R), Sweden (R), Switzerland (R), Taiwan (R), Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago (R), Turkey (R), Ukraine (R), Venezuela, Yugoslavia (R).


Cyprus, Guyana, Iceland, Ivory Coast, Korea, Republic of Lebanon, Malawi, Mali Nigeria, Uganda.

The Montreal Convention for the Suppression of unlawful acts against the safety of civil aviation done at Montreal on September 23, 1971: Signatures, Ratifications and Accessions:

Signatures (subsequent ratifications are indicated by (R)):

United Kingdom (R), U.S.S.R. (R), U.S.A. (R), Argentina (R), Australia (R), Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil (R), Bulgaria (R), Burundi, Byelorussia (R), Canada (R), Chad (R), Congo, People's Republic of, Costa Rica (R), Cyprus (R), Czechoslovakia (R), Denmark (R), Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji (R), Gabon, Germany (DR) (R), Germany (FR), Greece, Guatemala, Haiti, Hungary (R), India, Italy, Israel (R), Jamaica, Jordan (R), Laos, Luxembourg, Mexico, Mongolia (R), Netherlands (R), New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger (R), Panama (R), Paraguay, Philippines (R), Poland, Portugal (R), Romania, Rwanda, Senegal, Singapore, South Africa (R) Spain (R), Taiwan (R), Trinidad and Tobago (R), Ukraine (R), Venezuela, Yemen Arab Republic, Yugoslavia (R).


Cameroon, Finland, Guyana, Iceland, Iran, Ivory Coast, Korea, Republic of, Malawi, Mali, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Sweden.

House adjourned at twenty-seven minutes before eleven o'clock.