HC Deb 25 October 1973 vol 861 cc709-11W
Mr. Roderick

asked the Secretary of State for Wales if he will name the centres at which the rent scrutiny boards in Wales meet; and whether members of the public or those persons whose case is being discussed can attend such meetings.

Mr. Peter Thomas

While there are no fixed venues, boards normally meet at the following centres:

  • East Glamorgan Board—Cardiff.
  • West Glamorgan Board—Swansea.
  • Monmouthshire Board—Cwmbran.
  • Mid Wales Board—Llandrindod Wells.
  • West Wales Board—Carmarthen.
  • North West Wales Board—Bangor and Pwllheli.
  • North East Wales Board—Northop Hall.

The boards do not meet in public. The Advisory Committee on Fair Rents is at present considering the question of public involvement in the determination of fair rents.

Mr. Roderick

asked the Secretary of State for Wales which of the members of the rent scrutiny boards for Wales are tenants; and which are council tenants.

Mr. Peter Thomas

Members are not asked to declare whether they occupy tenanted property unless they are tenants of a local authority. Two lay members, Mr. J. L. Thomas, FIMTA, ACIS, and Councillor A. J. West are council tenants.

Mr. Roderick

asked the Secretary of State for Wales what rates of remuneration are paid to members of the rent scrutiny boards.

Mr. Peter Thomas

Members are paid for a full day session at the following rates:

Legal members and chairmen 27.00
Professional members (surveyors and valuers) 25.00
Lay members 15.00

Mr. Roderick

asked the Secretary of State for Wales (1) if he will list the members of rent scrutiny boards in Wales by the areas in which they serve;

(2) which members of the rent scrutiny boards in Wales in each of the areas were members of the previous rent assessment panels.

7. Mr. Peter Thomas

In the list which follows, the names of those who were members of the rent assessment panel as previously constituted are marked with an asterisk.

East Glamorgan

Chairman: *R. W. Davies.

Surveyors: T. E. Billing, A. I. M. Clark, D. R. Davies, *A. A. Day, G. F. East, *B. T. Evans, A. D. Hill, A. R. Wilkinson.

Lay Members: Miss A. Evans, *B. E. Laugharne, J. Lennox, A. Lewis, J. L. Palmer. G. Thomas, *E. H. Trippe.

West Glamorgan

Chairman: *I. I. C. Goldstone.

Surveyors: G. W. Bowen, L. W. Davies, Harry Jenkins, A. H. W. Lewis, *D. B. Phillips, J. E. H. Rees.

Lay Members: D. E. Aubrey, L. J. Carter, J. F. Clement, *T. Ellis-Jones, Mrs. K. M. Hansford, *G. A. Morgan, W. B. Penhale, *J. L. Thomas.


Chairman: *D. Morris.

Surveyors: L. J. Edwards, J. Lingard, E. J. Murphy, W. M. Pipe, R. Pomfret, W. H. Sage, *D. Turner.

Lay Members: J. I. Bowles, R. M. Carter, K. B. Davies, J. I. Jones, *C. Prothero, E. E. Tomkins, A. J. West.

West Wales

Chairman: N. H. Llewellyn George.

Surveyors: W. T. Davies, E. M. Edmunds, T. James, W. O. P. Jones, J. A. W. Protheroe.

Lay Members: D. S. Goodwin, D. B. Jenkins, N. Jenkins, W. E. John, *D. Miles. Mrs. D. E. H. Roberts.

Mid Wales

Chairman: H. N. Jerman.

Surveyors: J. L. Harpur, L. A. Terrell, N. Tyler, W. W. Youngr.

Lay Members: Mrs. J. Aitken, Mrs. D. Barstow, Major P. Lewis, W. N. Preston, J. W. R. Walters.

North East Wales

Chairman: *S. K. Jonathan.

Surveyors: J. F. W. Raines, T. C. Daulby, J. D. Giddins, R. B. Griffiths, R. Johnson, *J. G. Lloyd, G. B. Travis.

Lay Members: R. I. Davies, *J. Esmor-Thomas, *Mrs. M. E. Hewit, E. MacDonald, Mrs. M. B. Whitehouse.

North West Wales

Chairman: *J. G. Roberts.

Surveyors: H. R. Davies, M. R. Ellis, Horace John, J. Lewis, P. E. Owen, C. R. Sacre, H. Tudor.

Lay Members: G. T. Davies, *Mrs. H. Harry, *T. R. Jones, Mrs. M. A. Roberts, O. M. Roberts.

*Members of rent assessment panel before the constitution of rent scrutiny boards.

Forward to