HC Deb 15 May 1973 vol 856 cc275-6W
33. Mr. J. H. Osborn

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science when she expects to make a statement about appointments to the British Library Board.

Mr. St. John-Stevas

A number of part-time appointments to the British Library Board have been made under Section 2(1) of the British Library Act 1972. In addition the Chief Executive, Dr. H. T. Hookway, has been appointed a full-time member. The remaining appointments to the board, including that of the chairman, will be announced as soon as possible.

The following have been appointed part-time members of the Board of the British Library under Section 2(1) of the British Library Act 1972:—

The Rt. Hon. the Lord Adeane GCB GCVO (Appointed by Her Majesty The Queen).

Dr. J. W. Barrett CBE, Director, Monsanto Chemicals Limited.

Mr. John Brown CBE, Publisher, Oxford University Press.

Dr. G. Chandler, City Librarian, Liverpool.

Dr. A. N. L. Munby, Librarian, Kings College, Cambridge (Appointed on the nomination of the Trustees of the British Muesum).

Mrs. Alison Munro CBE, High Mistress, St. Paul's School for Girls.

Dr. A. E. Ritchie, Secretary and Treasurer, Carnegie Trust for Universities of Scotland, lately Dean, Faculty of Science, University of St. Andrews.

Professor Glanmor Williams, Professor of History, University College, Swansea.