HC Deb 14 March 1973 vol 852 cc366-8W
Mr. Sydney Chapman

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science whether she is able to announce the establishment of the Technician Education Council recommended in the Haslegrave Report.

Mrs. Thatcher

I am pleased to announce the establishment of the Technician Education Council. The negotiations between my Department and the City and Guilds of London Institute about the administrative servicing of the council have been successfully completed, and other valuable discussions have been held with professional and other interests involved in joint committees for national certificate and diploma awards. I am satisfied that the new council will be able to count on the broad support of these several interests in its work.

The council will be concerned in the development of policies for schemes of technical education for persons at all levels of technician occupations in industry and elsewhere. To this end it will, as proposed in the Haslegrave Report, plan, administer and keep under review the development of a unified national system of courses for such people; and will devise or approve suitable courses, establish and assess standards of performance, and award certificates and diplomas as appropriate. I shall want the council to be associated with the courses and examinations administered by joint committees for national certificates and diplomas and with the technician level examinations of the CGLI until all of these are replaced. In all its work I see the council proceeding with the fullest possible involvement and co-operation of industry, the professional bodies, and the education service, both centrally and at local and regional level. I have appointed Mr. A. L. Burton, the present Chairman of the Furniture and Timber Industrial Training Board and a former Lord Mayor of Westminster, as part-time chairman of the council and the following persons as members:

  • Mr. D. Coatesworth.
  • Mr. W. A. G. Easton.
  • Mr. M. Emerson.
  • Mr. J. Foley
  • Mr. W. B. Foster.
  • Mr. R. L. Helmore.
  • Mr. A. J. Kenward.
  • 368
  • Mr. J. M. Langham.
  • Mr. F. R. J. Langridge.
  • Mr. F. Metcalfe
  • Mr. E. Mitchell.
  • Mr. P. O'Donoghue.
  • Dame Kathleen Ollerenshaw.
  • Mr. E. M. Owens.
  • Mrs. B. C. Platt.
  • Dr. W. A. Pullman.
  • Professor J. E. Salmon.
  • Mr. K. Severn.
  • Mr. P. Shepherd.
  • Mr. J. A. Springett.
  • Mr. J. H. Taylor.
  • Mr. M. G Venn
  • Mr. H. G. Young.

Forward to