HC Deb 19 June 1973 vol 858 cc101-2W
Mr. Ford

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department if he will list the persons serving on the working party referred to in the introduction to Command Paper No. 5297, "Control of Firearms", together with any particular and relevant qualifications they possess.

Mr. Carlisle

The members were:

  • Sir John McKay, C.B.E., Q.P.M., H.M. Chief Inspector of Constabulary for England and Wales (Chairman).
  • Mr. J. Angus, Q.P.M., Chief Constable of Leeds.
  • Mr. T. W, Chasser, C.V.O., Chief Constable of the Scottish North-Eastern Counties.
  • Mr. D. H. J. Hilary, Assistant Secretary, Police Department, Home Office.
  • Commander H. Hodgson, Metropolitan Police.
  • Commander E. O. Howells, Metropolitan Police (seconded to Police Research Services Branch, Home Office, until July 1971).
  • Mr. W. Hutchison and subsequently Mr. R. D. M. Calder, Assistant Secretary and Principal, respectively, Police Division, Scottish Home and Health Department.
  • Mr. J. D. McCafferty, Metropolitan Police Laboratory.
  • Mr. F. Drayton Porter, Q.P.M., Chief Constable of Mid-Anglia.
They were selected for their experience of the administration of the law of firearms control.

Forward to