HC Deb 27 February 1973 vol 851 c345W
Mr. Knox

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment if he will list the local authorities which have created traffic-free pedestrian precincts in town and city centres.

Mr. Peyton

I have made orders under the Town and Country Planning Act 1971 converting streets into footpaths in central areas at the request of the following local authorities:

  • Bath
  • Birmingham
  • Bolton
  • Bournemouth
  • Bromsgrove
  • Burgess Hill
  • Camberley
  • Coventry
  • Crawley
  • Darwen
  • Denton
  • Haringey
  • Lancaster
  • Morecambe and Heysham
  • Rotherham
  • Scunthorpe
  • Southampton
  • Teesside
  • York
Authorities also have powers themselves to create pedestrian streets under the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1967. I do not have details of such orders.