HC Deb 07 February 1973 vol 850 cc103-4W
Mr. Beaney

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment which local authorities are exercising their power under Sections 20 to 22 of the Local Government Act 1966 to levy a rate on empty property; and how much rate revenue each of these authorities derives from such property.

Mr. Eldon Griffiths

According to the latest information available to my Department, the following local authorities have adopted the provisions of Section 17 and Schedule 1 to the General Rate Act 1967, which have replaced Sections 20 to 22 of the Local Government Act 1966, to levy a rate on empty property

The County Borough Councils of:
Bournemouth. Norwich.
Coventry. Oxford.
Eastbourne. Southport.
Exeter. West Bromwich.

The London Borough Councils of:
Barking. Hillingdon.
Barnet. Hounslow.
Bexley. Islington.
Brent. Kensington and Chelsea.
Croydon. Lambeth.
Ealing. Newham.
Enfield. Redbridge.
Greenwich. Southwark.
Hackney. Tower Hamlets.
Hammersmith. Waltham Forest.
Haringey. Wandsworth.
Havering. Westminster.

The Non-County Boroughs and Urban District Councils of:
Ashby-de-la-Zouch Melksham.
Beaumaris. Melton Mowbray.
Berkhampsted. Neath.
Bishop's Stortford. Newbiggin-by-the-Sea.
Carmarthen. Newbury.
Clay Cross. Newcastle-under-Lyme.
Crawley. New Sarum.
Cudworth. Petersfield.
Eccles. Portland.
Gelligaer. Potters Bar.
Halstead. Ramsgate.
Heanor. Royston (Herts.).
Hereford. Royston (Yorks.).
Hitchin. St. Albans.
Hornsea. Shoreham-by-Sea.
Horsham. Skelton & Brotton
Hoylake. Stevenage.
Leamington Spa. Tamworth.
Letchworth. Taunton.
Llandovery. Tonbridge.
Llanfairfechan. Tring.
Llanidloes. Tunbridge Wells.
Loughborough. Ware.
Maesteg. Watford.
Maidstone. Wellington (Soms.).
Mansfield. Wimborne Minster.

The Rural District Councils of:
Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Vaynor and Penderyn.
Bakewell. Wantage.
Cannock. Warminster and Westbury.
Cheadle. Warmley.
Long Ashton. Watford.
Sedgefield. West Dean.
South Cambridgeshire. Wycombe.
Isles of Scilly
South Kesteven.

Information about the yield from the rating of empty property is not available, but may be obtained from the authorities listed above.