HC Deb 05 December 1973 vol 865 cc385-6W
45. Mr. Evelyn King

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment how many members of the advisory group under Mr. George Dobry, QC, appointed to review planning procedures, have themselves in the past had official commitments to the administrative planning structure.

Mr. Rippon

The members of the advisory group were appointed on an individual basis. Particulars were given in reply to my hon. Friend the Member for Birmingham, Handsworth (Mr. Sydney Chapman) on 8th November. Of the 16 members of the advisory group, six are local government officers—of whom three are planning officers—two are elected members of local authorities, two were many years ago professional officers of the former Ministry of Housing and Local Government and one is an officer of the Department who has been seconded to the Countryside Commission for the last five years.