HC Deb 25 October 1972 vol 843 cc300-1W
50. Mr. Roy Hughes

asked the Attorney-General if he will list the Commissioners of Income Tax in Wales, together with their professions, the areas in which they serve and the period of office for which they are appointed.

The Attorney-General

There are 514 General Commissioners of Income Tax serving the 44 Divisions in Wales. 129 Commissioners were appointed before January, 1960, when the Lord Chancellor became responsible for appointments. Details of their professions and occupations are not available and it would take a disproportionate length of time and expense to produce them. General Commissioners hold office during the pleasure of the Lord Chancellor but are required by law to retire at the age of 75.