HC Deb 27 November 1972 vol 847 cc12-3W
Mr. Michael McNair-Wilson

asked the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry if he will give the names of members of the National Aviation Security Committee; when the committee was set up; what are the terms of reference; and how many times it has met in 1972.

Mr. Onslow

The National Aviation Security Committee, which met for the first time on 25th May 1971, has the following terms of referenceTo advise Her Majesty's Government and the civil aviation industry including the airport authorities regarding security measures to meet threats of violence to civil aviation; to recommend appropriate security measures; and to keep such measures and their effectiveness under review. The chairman of the committee is Mr. D. F. Hubback, a deputy secretary in my Department, and its membership comprises representatives from the Department of Trade and Industry, Home Office, Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Ministry of Defence; Metropolitan and other police forces; Civil Aviation Authority; British Airports Authority, Joint Airports Committee of Local Authorities and Aerodrome Owners Association; British Overseas Airways Corporation, British European Airways, British Caledonian Airways and Monarch Airlines Ltd.; British Air Line Pilots Association, Transport and General Workers Union and Electrical Electronic and Telecommunications Union / Plumbing Trade Union. The committee has met formally on five occasions in 1972 and there are, of course, close and regular contacts about these matters between all those concerned.