HC Deb 01 May 1972 vol 836 cc26-7W
Mr. Deakins

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs why the Lancaster House agreement on sugar, accepted by the European Economic Community, was not included in the Treaty of Accession.

Mr. Rippon:

The consultations between the countries whose sugar industries are party to the Commonwealth Sugar Agreement at Lancaster House on 1st to 2nd June, 1971, were not part of the enlargement negotiations between the United Kingdom and the Communities. Only decisions reached in the official enlargement conference qualify for inclusion in the Treaty of Accession between the Communities and the acceding States. The terms of the agreement on sugar are set out in Protocol No. 17 to the Treaty of Accession and the Communities' assurances appear in Part III of Protocol No. 22 to the Treaty of Accession.