HC Deb 19 June 1972 vol 839 c39W
Mr. Critchley

asked the Minister of Posts and Telecommunications whether he will announce the location of further independent local radio stations.

Sir J. Eden

The next stations, in addition to those already announced, are now expected to be at Liverpool, Tyneside, Swansea, Sheffield, Plymouth, Edinburgh, Portsmouth, Bradford, Ipswich and Nottingham. Subsequently further stations are likely to be opened at Belfast, Blackburn, Bournemouth, Brighton, Bristol, Cardiff, Coventry, Huddersfield, Leeds, Teesside and Wolverhampton. The stations have been chosen to bring independent local radio to a variety of places throughout the United Kingdom and at the same time, to have some smaller stations on the air relatively early. They will serve recognisable communities and will be firmly rooted in their localities.

As announced by my predecessor on 11th November, 1971, the first five stations will be in London (two), Birmingham, Glasgow and Manchester.—[Vol. 825, c. 1256.]