HC Deb 16 June 1972 vol 838 cc419-20W
Mr. John E. B. Hill

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if she is now able to announce the membership of her committee of inquiry into reading and the use of English in schools.

Mrs. Thatcher

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Chairman—Sir Alan Bullock, Vice Chancellor of Oxford University and Master of St. Catherine's College, Oxford.

Sister Basil, Headmistress, St. Margaret Mary Primary School, Carlisle.

Mr. Alastair Burnet, Editor, The Economist.

Professor J. Britton, Professor of Education, Goldsmiths' College, University of London.

Miss June Derrick, Lecturer, Institute of Education, Leeds University.

Mr. J. Fairbairn, Head of the Education Department, St. John's College, York.

Mr. H. K. Fowler, Director of Education, Derbyshire.

Mr. Stuart Froome, Headmaster, St. Jude's Church of England Junior School, Englefield Green, Surrey.

Mr. David Gadsby, Director, A. & C. Black Ltd., Publishers.

Mr. K. Gardner, Lecturer in Primary Education, School of Education, Nottingham University.

Mr. C. Gillings, Headmaster, Midhurst Intermediate School, West Sussex.

Mrs. D. M. Hutchcroft, O.B.E., Headmistress, Saltford Primary School, Bristol.

Miss A. M. Johns, Headmistress, Henry Fawcett Infants' School, London.

Mr. D. Mackay, Adviser/Warden, Centre for Language in Primary Education, Inner London Education Authority.

Mr. M. Marland, Headmaster, Woodberry Down School, London.

Professor John Merritt, Professor of Educatinal Studies, Open University.

Mr. A. Puckey, General Educational Adviser, Nottingham Local Education Authority.

Mrs. V. Southgate Booth, Lecturer in Curriculum Development, School of Education, Manchester University.

Dame Muriel Stewart, Chairman, Schools Council.

Professor J. Wrigley, Professor of Education, Reading University and Director of Studies, Schools Council.

Forward to