HC Deb 14 June 1972 vol 838 cc328-9W
Mr. David Steel

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will publish in the Official Report a list of those local authorities which have not yet completed housing surveys in their area under Section 1(2) of the Housing (Scotland) Act, 1969.

Mr. Gordon Campbell

The statutory requirement is that every local authority shall from time to time cause to be made such a survey or inspection as may be necessary in order to enable it to perform its duty in relation to houses which do not meet the tolerable standard, or in order to ascertain the availability of alternative housing accommodation. Councils are not therefore required by Statute to make surveys in all circumstances or by a specified date. The authorities which have not yet formally reported the results of surveys to me are as follows:

Argyll. Fife.
Banff. Nairn.
Bute. Selkirk.
Large Burghs
Small Burghs
Aberchirder. Haddington.
Aberfeldy. Innerleithen.
Abernethy. Inveraray.
Alyth. Inverurie.
Annan. Jedburgh.
Auchtermuchty. Kelso.
Ballater. Kilrenny and
Bonnyrigg. Anstruther.
Buckie. Kinghorn.
Burghead. Kintore.
Burntisland. Kirkwall.
Campbeltown. Lauder.
Carnoustie. Lochgilphead.
Castle Douglas. Macduff.
Cockenzie. Musselburgh.
Cove and Kilcreggan. Newburgh.
Cromarty. Newmilns and
Culross. Greenholm.
Cumbernauld. Newport.
Dalkeith. Newton Stewart.
Darvel. Old Meldrum.
Dingwall. Renfrew.
Dollar. Rothesay.
Dornoch. St. Monance.
Dunbar. Sanquhar.
Dunblane. Stevenston.
Dunoon. Stewarton.
Eyemouth. Tain.
Findochty. Thurso.
Forres. Tobermory.
Fraserburgh. Troon.
Gatehouse. Turriff.