HC Deb 21 February 1972 vol 831 cc218-9W
67. Mr. Onslow

asked the Secretary of State for the Environment what estimate he has made of the probable average rush-hour transit time of a vehicle with a top speed of 50 miles per hour between Central London and the terminal building at the projected Foulness Airport during the year when the first runway is brought into use.

Mr. Michael Heseltine

Such a calculation would not be meaningful at this stage. But I can assure my hon. Friend that we attach great importance to speedy access to Maplin.

Development Corporations Status Name Date of Appointment
Aycliffe and Peterlee. Chairman Mr. H. D. Stevenson, MA. 23rd November, 1971
Basildon Chairman Mr. A. O. Kelting 1st February, 1971
Member Mrs. Elizabeth Coker, B.Sc. 1st February, 1971
Member Miss Shelagh Roberts 1st February, 1971
Member Mr. L. Lane, C.B.E. 1st February, 1971
Bracknell Chairman Mr. J. W. Hughes, B.Sc, F.R.I.C.S. 1st September, 1971
Central Lancashire New Town. Chairman Sir Frank Pearson, Baronet, M.B.E., J.P. 15th March, 1971
Deputy Chairman Mr. G. A. Wright 23rd July, 1971
Member Mr. J. F. Billinge 23rd July, 1971
Member Sir Matthew Busby, C.B.E. 23rd July, 1971
Member Lord Greenwood of Rossendale, P.C., J.P. 23rd July, 1971
Member Mr. T. Jackson 23rd July, 1971
Member Mrs. Rita Lytton 23rd July, 1971
Member Professor A. Mercer, M.A., Ph.E 23rd July, 1971
Member Mr. B. B. Pugh, M.C., M.A., LL.B. 23rd July, 1971
Harlow Chairman Mr. B. J. Perkins 1st January, 1972
Milton Keynes Deputy Chairman Mr. Evelyn de Rothschild 2nd December, 1971
Member Mr. P. G. Willcock 31st December, 1971
Northampton Member Mr. G. Chase Gardener 12th November, 1970
Peterborough Member Mr. J. R. Horrell, T.D. 10th August, 1970
Skelmersdale Member Mr. K. A. Gayton, J.P. 1st January, 1972
Member Lady Mott 1st January, 1972
Member Mr. A. W. Waterworth, M.A., J.P. 1st January, 1972
Telford Chairman Mr. J. Dugdale 15th September, 1971
Commission for the New Towns. Chairman Mr. C. D. Pilcher, C.B.E., F.R.I.C.S. 1st July, 1971
Deputy Chairman Mrs. B. F. R. Paterson, J.P. 1st November, 1971 (appointed as member 24th November, 1961)
Member Mr. P. G. Grimshaw 1st January, 1971