HC Deb 02 July 1971 vol 820 c221W
Mr. Sproat

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland what steps he has taken following the Zuckerman Report on hospital scientific and technical services to set up a Scottish hospital scientific council.

Mr. Gordon Campbell

Proposals for setting up a Council to cover scientific aspects of all sectors of the Health Service were discussed with representatives of interested bodies at a conference held in January last. Professor Michael Swann, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Edinburgh University, has accepted my invitation to chair the Council and after considering names suggested by the interested bodies I have appointed the members listed below. These include the chairmen designate of the regional scientific advisory committees which are being set up in the five hospital regions.

The terms of reference of the Council are: to review and advise on the organisation of the scientific and technical services in the Health Service but excluding pay and conditions of service and to make recommendations concerning future developments".

It has arranged to hold its first meeting on 6th July.

The names of the members are:

  • Professor Michael Swann. Chairman.
  • Professor J. N. Anderson.
  • Dr. J. Bruce.
  • Miss H. C. Cousland.
  • Professor A. R. Currie.
  • Dr. S. H. Davies.
  • Professor J. P. Duguid.
  • Dr. R. Graham.
  • Dr. J. K. Grant.
  • Dr. J. Halliday-Croom.
  • Dr. J. C. J. Ives.
  • Professor R. M. Kenedi.
  • Dr. E. V. Kuenssberg.
  • T. S. Lansley, Esq.
  • Dr. J. M. Lenihan.
  • A. H. McCall. Esq.
  • Professor M. C. Macnaughton.
  • Dr. G. B. S. Roberts.
  • Professor E. Samuel.
  • Dr. D. C. Simpson.
  • W. H. Valentine, Esq.
  • Professor L. G. Whitby.
  • Dr. T. S. Wilson.

Back to