HC Deb 18 January 1971 vol 809 cc200-3W
113. Mr. Barry Jones

asked the Secretary of State for Wales if he will indicate the local education authorities in Wales who have established teaching centres, the number of teaching centres in each local education authority area, and the plans and timetables of those local education authorities which have not yet established their teaching centres.

Mr. Peter Thomas

The latest survey of teacher centres conducted by the Schools Council was published in April, 1970. In addition, university colleges have well established centres for teachers in their areas. Information is not readily

Breconshire Teachers' Centre, C.P. Junior School, Penrhos, Ystradgynlais, Brecs. Tel. Glantawe 2200. Leader/Secretary: Mr. J. D. Coombe.
Teachers' Centre, C.P. Junior School, Brynmawr, Brecs. Tel. 0495 31 227. Leader/Secretary: Mr. J. A. Morgan.
Ysgol-Y-Graig C.P. School, Cefn Coed, Merthyr Tydfil. Tel. 0685 3159. Leader: To be appointed.
Caernarvonshire Caernarvon Teachers' Centre, Maesincla Junior School, Caernarvon. Warden: Mr. Arwel Jones
Conway Teachers' Centre, Conway Warden: Mr. V. Hughes.
Bangor Teachers' Centre, Glanadda Primary School, Bangor. Warden: Mr. M. R. Lloyd Pierce.
Pwllheli Teachers' Centre, Frondeg School, Pwllheli. Warden: Mrs. Glenda Jones.
Cardiganshire Aberystwyth Teachers' Group, Ysgol Gymraeg. Tel. 0970 7613. Local Education Authority and Teachers.
Tregaron Teachers' Group, Tregaron County Primary School.
Lampeter Teachers' Group, Lampeter County Primary School. Tel. Lampeter 461.
Aberaeron Teachers' Group, Aberaeron County Primary School.
Cardigan Teachers' Group, Cardigan County Primary School. Tel. 0239 2275.
Llandysul Teachers' Group, Llandysul County Primary School.
Carmarthenshire Ferryside Further Education Residential Centre, Ferryside. Tel. Ferryside 207. Warden: Mr. J. R. Evans.
Denbighshire Adult Education Centre/Teachers' Centre, Regent Street, Wrexham. Tel. 0978 4277. WEA Classes, etc.: Mr. J. Penri Williams.
In-service Training, etc.: Director of Education, Education Offices, Ruthin.
Flintshire Mold, Llwynegrain Hall (shared premises). Tel. 0352 2121.
Glamorgan Six workshops are already established Local Education Authority.
Bronllwyn Educational Centre, Gelli, Pentre, Rhondda, Glam. Tel. Pentre 3381. Centre is administered by the Borough of Rhondda, Excepted District, Local Education Authority. Leader: Mrs. D. Jenkins.
Coedpare Teachers' Centre, Bridgend. Tel. 0042 55889.
Soar Teachers' Centre, Soar Chapel, High Street, Mountain Ash.
Merioneth Five Teachers' Groups established, in each secondary comprehensive school catchment area. No fixed meeting place. Local Education Authority and Teachers.
Bala Teachers' Centre, Old British School, Bala Leader: To be appointed.
Monmouthshire Glyncoed Junior School, Badminton Grove, Ebbw Vale, Mon., NP3 5U1. Secretary: Mr. H. Edwards. Tel. 0495 21 2211.
St. Dials Junior School, Oak Street, Cwmbran, Mon., NP4 3LT. Mr. A. G. Coles. Tel. 0633 3 3374.
The Hill Residential College, Penypound, Abergavenny, Mon. Mr. H. Strand Jones. Tel. Abergavenny 2551.
Montgomeryshire Teachers' Centre, Maesyde C.P. School, Welshpool, Montgomeryshire. Mr. Gwynn Dodd (Primary Schools Organiser). All information to be sent c/o Local Education Authority.
Teachers' Centre, New Road, Newtown, Montgomeryshire.
Llanfair Caereinion Teachers' Centre, The High School, Llanfair Caereinion.
Llanfyllin Teachers' Centre, County Primary School, Llanfyllin.
Llanidloes Teachers' Centre, County Primary School, Llanidloes.
Machynlleth Teachers' Centre, County Primary School, Machynlleth.

available on local education authorities' plans and timetables for new centres.

Following is further information:

Pembroke The County Secondary School, Prendergast, Haverfordwest, Pembs. Secretary: Mr. Gordon Parry.
Burton V.C. School, Houghton, Milford Haven Secretary: Mr. J. Pound. Home Tel. Nayland 364.
Tenby Teachers' Centre, Pentlepoir C.P. School, Saundersfoot. Secretary: Mr. C. John.
Fishguard Teachers' Centre, Barham School, Trecwm, Haverfordwest. Secretary: Mr. Lewis Pritchard. Home Tel. Letterston 335.
Radnorshire Radnor Further Education Centre, Fairways, Llandrindod Wells. Tel. 0597 2696/7. Mr. Gethin Jones (Principal).
Cardiff Penyrheol C.P. School, Cardiff. Tel. 0222 77124
Cardiff Teachers' Centre, c/o Severn Road Junior School, Severn Road, Canton, Cardiff. Tel. 0222 31652. Secretary Organiser: Mr. T. H. Williams.
Merthyr Tydfil Merthyr Tydfil Teachers' Centre, Education Department, Pontmorlais, Merthyr Tydfil, Glam. Tel. 0685 2761.4. Secretary: Mr. W. Lawrence.
Newport Teachers' Centre, Bryngwyn Road, Newport, Mon. Tel. 6633 64893. General Advisor and Organiser:
Swansea Swansea Teachers' Centre, Gors Avenue, Townhill, Swansea, SA1 6SF. Tel. 0792 33030. Warden: Mr. D. Florence.

Forward to