HC Deb 03 August 1971 vol 822 c275W
55. Sir T. Beamish

asked the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry if he will publish a table showing which Commonwealth countries now give significant imports from European Economic Community countries equal or preferential tariff treatment in comparison with similar categories of imports from the United Kingdom.

Mr. Anthony Grant

The Commonwealth countries which at present give preferential tariff treatment to imports from the E.E.C. which they do not give to the United Kingdom are the members of the East African Community (Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda). Under the Arusha Convention they accord such preferences on some 60 products. The agreement between the E.E.C. and Malta will result in the elimination of United Kingdom preferences on most Maltese imports by 1976 and in some cases may create preferences in favour of the Community. It is not practicable to analyse the tariffs of the remaining 32 independent Commonwealth countries in order to show the extent to which they accord most-favoured-nation treatment to both the E.E.C. and the United Kingdom.

Forward to