HC Deb 02 April 1971 vol 814 cc453-4W
Mr. Laurance Reed

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department whether he will announce the membership of the proposed committee of inquiry into the liquor licensing laws of England and Wales.

Mr. Maudling

As I announced on 8th December in reply to a Question by my hon. Friend the Member for Abingdon (Mr. Neave), the right hon. Lord Erroll of Hale has agreed to be Chairman of the Committee. The right hon. Lord Shepherd has agreed to serve as Deputy Chairman. The following have accepted invitations to serve as members of the Committee:

  • Miss Sheila Black.
  • Mr. Robert Cough, C.B.E.
  • Mr. Derek Gladwin, J.P.
  • Mr. Graham Hill, O.B.E.
  • Dr. R. L. James.
  • Mr. Richard John, C.B., J.P.
  • The Rt. Rev. Simon Phipps, M.C.
  • Sir Robert Payne.
  • Professor A. R. Prest.
  • Dr. M. Sabir.
  • Mr. David Wolfson.

The following have accepted invitations to serve as assessors to the Committee:

  • Mr. W. W. Addison, J.P.
  • Mr. E. Barker, O.B.E., Q.P.M.
  • Mr. P. D. Fanner.