HC Deb 17 February 1970 vol 796 cc98-9W
Mr. Whitlock

asked the Prime Minister whether he will now announce the names of the Chairman and members of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution.

The Prime Minister

I am glad to be able to tell the House that The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointment of Sir Eric Ashby, F.R.S., D.Sc., M.A., Master of Clare College, Cambridge, and until recently Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University, as Chairman of the Commission. Her Majesty has also been pleased to approve that the following be appointed members: Professor W. Beckerman, M.A., Ph.D., D.Phil., Head of Department of Political Economy, University College, London. Mr. Aubrey Buxton. M.C., Director of Anglia Television. British Trustee of the World Wildlife Fund. Dr. F. Fraser Darling. D.Sc., Ph.D., LL.D., P.I.Biol., F.R.S.E., Vice-President of the Conservation Foundation. Professor V. C. Wynne-Edwards, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.C., F.R.S.E., Regius Professor of Natural History, Aberdeen University. Chairman of the Natural Environment Research Council. The Right Reverend W. L. S. Fleming, D.D., M.A., Bishop of Norwich. Chaplain and Geologist, British Graham Land Expedition to the Antarctic, 1934–37. Director of Scott Polar Research Institute, Cambridge, 1947–49. Mr. N. A. Iliff, M.A., Hon. D.Sc., Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Shell Chemicals U.K. Ltd. President of the Chemical Industries Association. Sir John Winnifrith, K.C.B., M.A., Director-General of the National Trust. Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, 1959–67. Sir Solly Zuckerman, O.M., K.C.B., F.R.S., M.A., M.D., D.Sc., M.R.C.S., F.R.C.P., Chief Scientific Adviser to the Government.

The first meeting of the Commission will be held on Wednesday, 25th February.