HC Deb 09 April 1970 vol 799 cc121-2W
69. Dame Irene Ward

asked the Minister of Transport on what basis the financial commitments relating to concessionary fares are calculated in respect of nationalised buses; and what guidance he has given regarding arrangements for local authorities sharing in profits in cases in which they contribute to concessionary fares.

Mr. Bob Brown

Local authorities which arrange travel concessions on non-municipal bus services are required to reimburse to the operator the cost which he incurs. The terms in particular cases are for settlement between the local

The Minister of Transport appointed the following members of the Tyneside Passenger Transport Authority:

  • Alderman A. Cunningham, J.P.
  • Mr. G. Arnold, J.P.

I am informed that the constituent Councils of the Tyneside Passenger Transport Authority made the following appointments:

Representing Members Deputy
Durham C.C. Councillor J. D. Robson. Councillor M. Campbell.
Northumberland C.C. Councillor G. H. Peile, M.C. Alderman Lieutenant-Colonel G. H. Davidson, D.L.
Alderman T. H. Malia, O.B.E., J.P. Councillor W. P. J. Nixon.
Gateshead C.B.C. Alderman W. Collins. Alderman R. N. Baptist, J.P.
Alderman J. C. S. Wheatley. Alderman J. T. Etherington.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne Councillor N. G. Trotter, B.Com., F.C.A. Councillor J. Cox.
Alderman A. Grey. Councillor E. Jeffcock, F.I.O.B.
Alderman D. P. Price, M.I.H.B.E. Councillor B. Collins, A.C.A.
Councillor W. R. S. Forsyth, B.Com. A.I.B. Councillor C. Burdon-Taylor, A.M.B.I.M., T.D.
Councillor W. Harding, F.C.A. Councillor D. Ramshaw
South Shields C.B.C. Alderman E. W. Mackley, J.P. Alderman K. Scringer.
Alderman J. Gibson. Alderman A. L. Newman, O.B.E., J.P.
Tynemouth C.B.C. Alderman T. Duff. Alderman F. J. Mavin, O.B.E., J.P.
Wallsend M.B. Alderman J. C. Grogen. Alderman J. C. Toft, M.B.E., J.P.
Whitley Bay M.B.
Seaton Valley U.D.
Gosforth U.D. Councillor R. G. Hogg. Councillor G. Harrison.
Longbenton U.D.
Newburn U.D.
Blaydon U.D. Councillor R. Rudge, J.P. Councillor T. G. Herron.
Ryton U.D.
Whickham U.D.
Castle Ward R.D.
Hexham R.D.
Jarrow M.B. Alderman A. M. Campbell, J.P. Councillor D. Dixon.
Felling U.D.
Hebburn U.D.

Appointments to the Tyneside Passenger Transport Executive are the responsibility of the Passenger Transport Authority.

authority and bus operator concerned on this basis. I am sending the hon. Lady a copy of the Department's letter to local authority and bus operator associations, referred to in my reply of 19th March to my hon. Friend the Member for Nuneaton (Mr. Leslie Huckfield).—[Vol. 798, c. 180.]